IHEA AGM 2023 – Special Address by Australian Universities Accord Panel Chair

Independent Higher Education Australia (IHEA) members met in Sydney today for the 2023 Annual General Meeting and special address by Australian Universities Accord Panel Chair, Professor Mary O’Kane AC.


IHEA members from across Australia attended the 2032 AGM in person in Sydney.

IHEA welcomed Dr David Perry (Vice President Academic, Alphacrucis University College) as new IHEA Chair and Ann Whitelock (International College of Management Sydney) as new IHEA Deputy Chair.

Incumbent Chair, Alan Finch (former Deputy Vice Chancellor, Students and Support Services, Bond University) and incumbent Deputy Chair, Gabriela Rodriguez (Deputy Managing Director and Group COO, Academies Australasia Group) did not recontest their respective positions following years of dedicated service.

Alan Finch also decided to step down from the IHEA Board. Gabriela Rodriguez will remain on the IHEA Board.

IHEA welcomed Professor Peter Sherlock (Vice-Chancellor, University of Divinity) to the IHEA Board.

The AGM saw the reinstatement of all other incumbent members.

IHEA Board 2023-24

Dr David PerryVice President AcademicAlphacrucis University CollegeCHAIR
Ms Ann WhitelockChair, Aspiring Education Foundation and Professional Scholarships ProgramInternational College of Management, SydneyDEPUTY CHAIR
Mr Bobby AbrahamChief Admissions, Global Engagement and PartnershipsExcelsia CollegeDIRECTOR
Prof James AdonopoulosAcademic DeanKaplan Business School and Kaplan ProfessionalDIRECTOR
Mr Joseph AnthonyszCEONavitas Careers and Industry DivisionDIRECTOR
Prof Kerri-Lee KrauseInterim Vice-Chancellor, fmr Provost and Senior Deputy Vice ChancellorAvondale UniversityDIRECTOR
Prof Alwyn LouwVice ChancellorTorrens UniversityDIRECTOR
Dr Ben O'HaraManaging DirectorCOLLARTSDIRECTOR
Ms Eve OllerenshawPro Vice ChancellorNextEd /Academy of Interactive TechnologyDIRECTOR
Mr Ken RichardsonVice President, OperationsBond UniversityDIRECTOR
Ms Gabriela RodriguezDeputy Managing Director and Group COOAcademies Australasia GroupDIRECTOR
Prof Peter SherlockVice-ChancellorUniversity of DivinityDIRECTOR


Australian Universities Accord Panel Chair, Professor Mary O’Kane AC gave a special address to IHEA members.

Prof O’Kane spoke about the Australian Universities Accord higher education review.

IHEA is deeply involved in this review as a member of the Australian Universities Accord Ministerial Reference Group Meeting and also through the formal submission process having recently presented papers on the 'Accord Discussion Paper Consultation' and 'Terms of Reference'.

IHEA will continue to work closely with the government, the Universities Accord Panel, and members of the ministerial reference group to examine themes for higher education sector reform.

An informative time was had by all.

IHEA thanks our guest speaker and members for their participation in this event.

Stay informed

Our IHEP News keeps you up to date with the latest higher education information, policies, comments and IHEA submissions.