IHEA Announced as Member of Universities Accord Ministerial Reference Group

Independent Higher Education Australia (IHEA) welcomes the opportunity to work with the government and other representatives as a member of the Universities Accord Ministerial Reference Group.

Today, Minister for Education, Hon Jason Clare MP, announced IHEA as a member of the Universities Accord Ministerial Reference Group, alongside representatives from higher education institutions, business, staff, students, and other experts.

The Ministerial Reference Group will be chaired by the Minister for Education.
It will be a source of advice to the Universities Accord Panel, led by Professor Mary O’Kane AC, developing the Universities Accord higher education review.

“IHEA is pleased to represent Australia’s independent higher education sector as a member of Universities Accord Ministerial Reference Group,” said IHEA CEO, Dr Peter Hendy.

“Australia’s diverse independent higher education sector comprises established and stable providers playing an important role in addressing skill needs and delivering quality education to students from a range of backgrounds.”
“The Universities Accord review of higher education is a great opportunity to harness the enormous capability of Australian independent higher education.”

“IHEA looks forward to working closely with the government, the Universities Accord Panel, and members of the ministerial reference group to review Australia's higher education system and examine themes for sector reform.”

Members of the Universities Accord Ministerial Reference Group:

• Senator Anthony Chisholm, Assistant Minister for Education
• Professor Mary O’Kane AC, Chair of the Universities Accord
• Tony Cook, Deputy Secretary, Department of Education
Independent Higher Education Australia (IHEA)
• Universities Australia
• Group of Eight
• Innovative Research Universities
• Australian Technology Network
• Regional Universities Network
• Universities Chancellor Committee
• Independent Tertiary Council of Australia
• Dr Cathy Foley, Chief Scientist of Australia
• Misha Schubert, Science and Technology Australia
• International Education Association of Australia
• Michael Wesley, Deputy Vice-Chancellor International, University of Melbourne
• Georgie Beatty, National Union of Students
• Taylah Roberts, 2020 Rural Youth Ambassador
• National Tertiary Education Union (NTEU)
• Australian Education Union (AEU)
• Professor Andrew Norton, ANU Centre for Social Research and Methods
• Associate Professor Paul Harpur, Disability Rights Legal Advocate, University of Queensland
• National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Higher Education Consortium
• Professor Lester Rigney, University of South Australia
• National Centre for the Student of Equity in Higher Education
• The Hon Professor Verity Firth, University of Technology Sydney (UTS)
• Business Council of Australia (BCA)
• Council of Small Business Organisations Australia (COSBOA)
• Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ACCI)
• Australian Industry Group (AIG)
• TAFE Directors Australia
• Jobs and Skills Australia
• Pat Forward, Former AEU Federal TAFE Secretary

All quotes above attributed to Dr Peter Hendy, IHEA CEO

IHEA Media Contact: Matthew Coote, IHEA Communications Manager (matthew.coote@ihea.edu.au / 0413 735 710)

Stay informed

Our IHEP News keeps you up to date with the latest higher education information, policies, comments and IHEA submissions.