Independent Higher Education Australia (IHEA) welcomed Mr Bobby Abraham, Chief Admissions, Global Engagement and Partnerships at Excelsia College to the IHEA Board at the peak body’s 2022 AGM held yesterday.

“We are very pleased to welcome Bobby Abraham to the IHEA Board,” said IHEA CEO, Dr Peter Hendy.

“With 15 years of experience working across higher education, vocational and ELICOS sectors, Bobby will add strength to the Board, with his leadership, management, strategic, and business development capability.”

The AGM saw the reinstatement of all incumbent members, except for Ms Julie Moss – Managing Director, Photography Studies College, who chose not to renominate.

Incumbent Chair, Mr Alan Finch (former Deputy Vice Chancellor, Students and Support Services, Bond University) and incumbent Deputy Chair, Ms Gabriela Rodriguez (Deputy Managing Director and Group COO, Academies Australasia Group) were uncontested in their re-election.

“IHEA extends its deepest gratitude to Julie Moss for her invaluable contributions to the IHEA Board. Julie’s guidance was particularly notable as the IHEA Board led the membership through COVID-19 induced challenges and transitions. Julie has also played a key role as Convenor of IHEA's Dual Sector Network,” said Dr Hendy.

“I would also like to express our ongoing gratitude to all other Board Members reinstated, including IHEA Chair, Mr Alan Finch and Deputy Chair, Ms Gabriela Rodriguez. The unity and experience demonstrated across the Board paves the way for IHEA to ensure independent providers help students succeed while meeting continuing economic challenges.”

IHEA Board 2022-23

Mr Alan FinchFormer Deputy Vice Chancellor (Students and Support Services)Bond UniversityCHAIR
Ms Gabriela RodriguezDeputy Managing Director and Group COOAcademies Australasia GroupDEPUTY CHAIR
Mr Bobby AbrahamChief Admissions, Global Engagement and PartnershipsExcelsia CollegeDIRECTOR
Prof James AdonopoulosAcademic DeanKaplan Business School and Kaplan ProfessionalDIRECTOR
Mr Joseph AnthonyszCEONavitas Careers and Industry DivisionDIRECTOR
Prof Kerri-Lee KrauseProvost and Senior Deputy Vice ChancellorAvondale UniversityDIRECTOR
Prof Alwyn LouwVice ChancellorTorrens UniversityDIRECTOR
Dr Ben O'HaraManaging DirectorCOLLARTSDIRECTOR
Ms Eve OllerenshawPro Vice ChancelloriCollegeDIRECTOR
Dr David PerryVice President AcademicAlphacrucis University CollegeDIRECTOR
Mr Ken RichardsonVice President, OperationsBond UniversityDIRECTOR
Ms Ann WhitelockChair, Aspiring Education Foundation and Professional Scholarships ProgramInternational College of Management, SydneyDIRECTOR

Media Contact: Matthew Coote, IHEA Communications Manager (

Stay informed

Our IHEP News keeps you up to date with the latest higher education information, policies, comments and IHEA submissions.